Blog Comments

COMMENT 21

Valeriy Guy – Harness the Power of the Website

November 19, 2010

It is crazy how the internet has taken over everything.  It  makes you wonder what the next “internet” will be.  There have so many advances made in man kind all because of the internet.  I have heard that the military has this kind of technology far before any body else has.  If this is the case, then the military has some technology that we don’t even know about, which is crazy to even think about.  Great article Valeriy, the post flowed well.

COMMENT 20

Hope Dodson – Social Media Review: You’ve Got Mail

November 19, 2010

Thank you for this post.  I hope that everyone that emails reads this first.  That is one that I cannot stand, when people just ramble on in emails.  We even discussed this in class when talking about things that journalist do that make PR people made.  People need to learn how simplify their writing and not babble.  At the same time, we have to be able to provide enough information so that people are fully informed.

COMMENT 19

John Cissel – Info about Infographics

November 19, 2010

I found this post very informative.  A lot of times people just type things out just to complete the assignment but I could tell you put some effort into this.  I remember going over the infographics in our class and it was pretty difficult coming up with everything on the spot.  I give credit to the folks that do this for a living, I could not handle mixing creativity and math into one.  However, it does make it easier to understand the info.

COMMENT 18

Chad Ainsworth – Mac vs. PC Has a whole new meaning

November 19, 2010

Oh the debate of Mac and PC.  It is a never ending battle because both companies have so much money to invest in keeping up with the other competition.  There really are plus and minuses for each of the computers.  It is tough when comparing the numbers but when it comes to connivence I think Mac blows PC out of the water.  I can always count on Chad Ainsworth to stand by Mac.  I think it is interesting how the approach advertising in a totally different manor.

COMMENT 17

Andrea Adkins – How to Handle a Crisis

November 19, 2010

I accidentally did the same topic of the week for comm 4333.  After reading your blog, I have learned that I really knew ablsolutley nothing about communication crisis.  Your post is extremely informative, especially the points you make about life cycle of communication crisis.  You have a very organized way of posting your blog.  It is very easy to read and understand.  I think you really summed the chapter up well though.  It is difficult to take all of that information and put it into one.

COMMENT 16

Devin Adams – What Makes Journalist Crazy About PR people

November  19, 2010

I love the title of your blog, first of all.  You have some really unique points on here, every other blog I have seen has had mostly the same points.  I also like how you said that the PR people and journalist have a love hate relationship.  Also, I really like the layout and color scheme of your blog.  I think I would have individually said how to improve on each point rather than a blanket paragraph covering them all.

COMMENT 15

Jessica Nguyen – PR Connections: Grammer Matter

October 27, 2010

I love the letter from the comma. People often screw up small things that can create a huge difference in the outcome of the sentence. I know that I make this mistakes a lot and therefor my writing suffers. Even if you are a compelling writer, you have to be able to use punctuation correctly. If you fail to do so, your message you are trying to get across will become all screwed up. Grammar and public relations go hand in hand, we must learn this fast. Great post Jessica, your a talented writer.

COMMENT 14

October Neuman – What Was She Thinking?

October 27, 2010

Oh Lady Gaga, I wonder what her publicist has to say about all the stupid things she has done.  Is that not what they are there for, making sure the persons public appearance is not negative.  On the other hand maybe she is doing her job perfectly because a lot of people love Lady Gaga.  Not to sure why but they do.  She definitely made a few enemies at PETA.  Trying to understand Lady Gaga is a daunting task that should not even be attempted.

COMMENT 13

Sam Mooty – Student Blog

October 27, 2010

I totally agree Sam.  This is definitely a different class but I like that though.  I really was not into blogging until we were forced to do it.  Although the work might be a little bit excessive its a really cool idea, having us start up our blogs and what not.  I think I will keep up with this blog after the class is done.  I might not be posting strictly public relations stuff but it was a great start.  I think it is really exciting tracking your stats and seeing who is coming to check your blog.  I am sure Professor Nixon loves the fact that she motivated us to blog more.

COMMENT 12

Chelsey Lynn – Pitch A Tent For $4,000

October 27, 2010

I really wish I would have known about this, I would have definitely been camping out to be first.  This is a brilliant idea on Ikea’s part.  They really did have a “grand opening” and it only cost them $4,000 and I bet the winner did not just stop at $4,000, he probably went spent more than that as well, therefore, in a way, they created a sale and made money by “giving away something for free.” Job well done Ikea and nice post Chelsey.

COMMENT 11

Gracey Somers – The Social Network

I have seen a lot of PR connections done on this movie, this has convinced me to go see the movie.  I think it is interesting that the story was a bit fictional or at least this is what I hear.  I think that this movie will do great in theaters just because of the hype it has received.  Everyone I talk to says it is an amazing movie, again more motivation for me to spend $10 to go see it.  I like the fact you included a video, it spices up your blog.  Great post Ms. Somers.

COMMENT 10

Valeriy Guy – Apple’s Facetime App to end the days of Skype

October 27, 2010

Immediately after reading this I had to go download Facetime.  Here are my first thoughts…I think it is really cool that you can connect Iphone 4 with the mac.  That is a huge step forward.  However, after testing it out from Mac to Mac, I was very disappointed.  The quality of the video was sub par.  Now I do understand that this is the beta so I will not totally bash it right now but so far I am not impressed.  I think Skype still will have a place in peoples hearts just because it you can call a PC from a Mac and vice versa.  Also,  Skype seems to have overall better quality.  I’m sure Apple will perfect Facetime and it will soon over run every video chat software.  Good article.

COMMENT 9

Amanda Furmage – LeBron Strikes Back

October 27, 2010

LeBron did Cleveland one did dirty, thats for sure.  It seems like his publicist would have been on top of the situation making sure that the public and LeBron did not get out of hand with the matter.   It is interesting that he attempted to fix things with this commercial, and I agree %100, this only hurt him by blaming it on others.  Way to go LeBron, all time low.  I am glad that you put the video in your post, it really brings a new element to the post.  Great job.  I also think you did a good job at not taking sides, for example, I couldn’t tell if you were a LeBron fan or not.

COMMENT 8

Hope Dodson – Social Media Review: The Social Network

October 27, 2010

I was a little bit disappointed to hear that the majority of this movie was fictional.  I was really hoping that they would stick close to the actual events that took place.  Of course, the story wouldn’t have been Hollywood material if that were the case.  Maybe they could follow up this movie with a documentary on Mark Zukkerburg’s real story.  I think it would be just as interesting.  I love the cover though, “You don’t get to 500 million without making a few enemies.”

COMMENT 7

John Cissel – PRC, 10 Tips and Tricks

October 27, 2010

This is a really well written article!  I like how you started off really simple, “What is a feature story.”  One thing that always kills me when I am trying to learn a new trade or what not is the fact they start teaching you and assume you know all the beginner level stuff.  I used to be film major and I remember first trying to understand and use Final Cut Pro was the most daunting task because every tutorial I found assumed you knew all the basic.  News flash, I didn’t.  Moral of my rant, I appreciate the fact you started simple.

COMMENT 6

Elaine Blueming – Southwest Airlines

October 27, 2010

I love your passion for Southwest Airlines.  I personally use Spirit and Airtran because they always seem to be the cheapest to fly with.  I think that Southwest Airlines does themselves a huge favor by allowing two bags to go on for free.  It is crazy to me that we most airlines will only allow one carry on and a personal bag these days.  I remember when I was younger we could pack pretty much whatever we wanted.  Of course I only had 5 or 6 tiny outfits and they all fit inside my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles suit case.  I will have to check out the prices of Southwest. Great article.

COMMENT 5

Andrea Adkins – GAP Gone Loco

October 25, 2010

I had to go double check what GAP’s old logo was.  I totally agree with Sarah, this seems like a giant publicity stunt.  A company like GAP doesn’t suffer from poor marketing or graphic design teams, there is no way.  However, I do like the fact they asked for the opinion of the public, it really shows that they care.  Did they really choose one of the graphics that a fan presented to them, probably not.  Great writing by the way.  I like the way that the quote showed up, with a darker background and what not.

COMMENT 4

Devin Adams – Southeastern University Searches for a “Daddy”

October 23, 2010

Wow.  Great article.  I do not think I could agree more with you.  Ever since the ledger wrote that article, it has sent our students into this awkward mood.  Everyone is so hostile towards the school and instead of being supportive it seems like the student body has become negative and letting the emotions getting the best of them.  I left for the past year to take a break from school.  After coming back and seeing the huge difference in the atmosphere, I think it is due the students attitudes, not the fact we do not have Dr. Mark Rutland anymore.

COMMENT 3

Elaine Bluemling – Tips and Tricks to Avoiding Plagiarism

September 21, 2010

I think that plagiarism is some thing that is done on accident a lot.  I know that I will catch myself plagiarizing, and you don’t really even realize it.  That doesn’t make it right though.  We really need to know how to look out for plagiarism and how to avoid plagiarism all together.  Great article on avoiding plagiarism all together.  Students need to really watch out for this.  This is a great post, it flowed well and was easy to follow.  Also, I really like the theme that you are using, its playful and fun.  You must be an experienced blogger.

COMMENT 2

Chad Ainsworth – Pastor Cancels Quran Burning

September 21, 2010

This was a crazy situation.  I think it is crazy how this guy really stole the attention of the media.  He worked them really well.  There are two really big issues when it comes to this guy threatening to burn the Quran on September 11, 2001.  First of all, I think that this does not portray how the church would really act.  We are called to be Christ like, not someone who has is cold at heart and willing to hurt other people in this manor.  The second thing that really bothers me is the fact that he used and abused the media.  He took control of a ton of media outlets.

COMMENT 1

Jessica Nguyen – Grammar Girl

September 18, 2010

Wow. Great article Jessica. Isn’t it crazy that your allowed to curse when writing fiction. That one kind of threw me for a loop. I like your style of writing though. Very strong and easy to follow. One thing to look out for is length. I’m not sure if she said it had to be under a certain amount of characters. Great job!

Leave a Reply

