Topic of the Week –3- Blog Comments

Why are comments such an integral part of blogs? What advice would you offer on writing effective blog comments?

What did I learn?

A lot of people think that commenting on blogs it the really fun part of it all.  It gives them a chance to share their view on the topic at hand.  It provides feedback for the writer of the blog.  There are also different types of commenting that can be done on blogs.  I found raproject.com to provide some great information on blog commenting.

There are 5 different types of blog comments.

1.Acknowledging comments – Basically just agreeing with the article.  Not really saying much either way.

2.Inquistive comments – Asking questions to gain more knowledge.

3.Informational comments – Providing some input on the subject matter to help the article

4.Relational comments – More of a personal comment to the blogger.

5.Spam comments – Used to drive traffic to other websites.

What surprised you?

I was surprised to find out how big people are on commenting.  I thought it was a second hand thing that went along with blogging but no one really payed it much attention.  I read that some people actually enjoying commenting more that blogging.  This came as a surprise to me.  I do that commenting on other peoples blogs helps your blog out as it creates a back link to your site.  The more back links that you have, the higher of a google page rank you will have.

What would I like to learn more about?

I would like to learn more about how to stop spam comments.  I just started up my blog for this class a couple days ago and I already have ten spam comments.  It is crazy how fast spam will find you out.  There has got to be a way to prevent spam from taking over your comments.  I know that a trick with email address is to never list your email address like so, “example@gmail.com” there are programs that search websites for these links.  Instead you should list like this “example(at)gmail(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

