Topic of the Week -4- Cleaning Your Copy

Cleaning your copy course

What did I learn?

I learned I didn’t know the first thing about grammar.  This test  really opened my eyes as to how much I struggle with grammar.  As I went through the course I began to really learn a lot of cool things, things that are easy to correct but just never knew the correct way to do these things.  For example, I was taught when to use “who” rather than “whom”.  This is something that I had always had problems with.  I would just switch it up every just to ensure I was getting it right at least 50% of the time.  I also learned when to use “affect” rather than “effect”.  Learning these different things was so helpful because I run into these problems everyday.

What surprised you?

I was surprised to see how wrong I was doing things.  The first quiz I took at the beginning was extremely eye opening.  I bombed that first quiz.  I really like the way that the site shows you how you did, it shows you what areas you need to improve in.  I was also surprised to see how many spelling errors I was committing everyday.  For example, “ecstasy” is a commonly misspelled word.  I think that a lot of people mess up these words, just don’t like to admit to it.

What would I like to learn more about?

I would like to learn more about tips and tricks to make these things more simple.  I like the way this course is taught.  It points out some things that you need to work on, has you go through the entire course learning about grammar, then quizzes you on the information once again to show you how you improved.  I think this is the best way that I learn, show me where to improve, teach me, then show you how much you had improved.

Leave a Reply

